[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]The Trump administration is expanding its controversial travel ban to include six additional countries.  The updated executive order will prevent citizens of Nigeria, Eritrea, Myanmar (Burma), and Kyrgyzstan from receiving immigrant visas to the United States.  Citizens of Sudan and Tanzania will be ineligible for the U.S. Diversity Visa Program.  The updated travel ban is slated to take effect on February 22.  The travel ban executive order was originally blocked from taking effect, but was upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court on June 26, 2018 in a 5-4 vote. The six countries being added to the travel ban are facing fewer restrictions than the countries already targeted.  Citizens from those countries (Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen) are barred from entering the country.  Citizens of the six countries being added to the list can still come to the United States but will be unable to pursue a green card, though some people may be eligible for waivers.  According to the administration, the six countries could potentially removed from the list if they take certain steps regarding security and information sharing.  Nigeria, the most populous country in Africa, has already set up a committee to work towards the goal of being removed from the travel ban. See the full news story here.  Read the travel and visa restrictions prepared remarks from the Department of Homeland Security here. The Trump administration has implemented numerous policies with the goal of restricting immigration to the country.  The Law Offices of Scott Warmuth continuously monitors potential changes to immigration law in order to best serve our clients.  If you have questions about any changes to immigration law and how it could affect your chances for permanent residency, call our offices today at 888-517-9888.  We offer free consultations and provide a full range of immigration services.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]